Books for July as chosen by our independent booksellers

Hello and welcome to the books chosen by independent booksellers as recommended new reads. Every month we will be highlighting fifteen books hand-picked for you, and why these booksellers think you should be reading them.

Just click on any of the titles to read more and purchase from Hive, where every sale benefits your local independent bookshop.

July-IBAP-banner-1

The Care and Management of Lies by Jacqueline Winspear

“A stunning and heart-breaking novel set in WWI, both in the trenches in France and in the fields of England. A haunting and evocative account from an unusual angle of this war, this tale will pull at the heart strings.”

Chosen by: Sheila O’Reilly, bookseller at Dulwich Books

To The Letter: A Curious History of Correspondence by Simon Garfield

“The ancient art of letter writing is celebrated in this fascinating collection of prose by including some of the practicalities of letter writing. With advice from Aristotle, or details of pillar boxes, Simon Garfield leads us gently through what is described as a ‘vanishing world’. I do hope not. This is a delightfully engaging account, which complements beautifully his earlier books.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

The Norfolk Mystery by Ian Sansom

“The first in a series of ‘county’ murders. They have a touch of the Golden Age of detective writers, Agatha Christie, Margery Allingham etc. The first story is set appropriately enough in a vicarage. Very well received when it was read as a Book at Bedtime on Radio 4.”

Chosen by: Sarah Donaldson, bookseller at Red Lion Books

The Swimmer by Joakim Zander

“A classic spy thriller which is action-packed from the first chapter. Spycraft and political intrigue in the corridors of the European Parliament, a shadowy organisation and a father’s mission to save his long lost daughter give The Swimmer all the elements it needs to be a very satisfying read for the summer.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

I’d Eat That! – Simple Ways to be a Better Cook by Callum Hann

“I’d Eat That! is an excellent example of an extremely useful cookbook. It is a simple guide to all the woes of eating food – what herb goes with pork and getting creative with no time or food in the fridge. This is the must have for students and novice foodies.”

Chosen by: Sue Kekewich, bookseller at Atkinson Pryce Books

July-IBAP-banner-2

The Miniaturist by Jesse Burton

“An intriguing and beautifully written story with a cast of characters who were at first engaging, but soon gave me a very uneasy feeling. Set in Holland in 1687, an innocent young bride is given a most unusual wedding gift by her husband, but the gift soon became a sinister symbol within their household as a series of unpleasant events occurred. I won’t spoil it for you, but do read this book. It is packed with the atmosphere of the time, the exotic trading in the East and written with a very readable style.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe by Romain Puertolas

“A funny, charming and feel-good story about a fake fakir who arrives in France, which will appeal to readers who loved Slumdog Millionaire and The One Hundred Year Old Man.”

Chosen by: Sheila O’Reilly, bookseller at Dulwich Books

Trilobites and Other Stories by Breece Pancake

“These short stories bring the rural poor of the USA vividly to life. The characters are full of life in all its hardships and their joys. A great and profound collection.”

Chosen by: Sarah Donaldson, bookseller at Red Lion Books

England and Other Stories by Graham Swift

“A well-produced and attractive edition of a new collection of short stories from Graham Swift. This volume contains twenty-five tales that placed together, produce an image of the development and diversity that is England. They are both entertaining and diverse, but with a bond that binds them together.”

Chosen by: Richard Knowles, bookseller at Rickaro Books

The Incarnations by Susan Barker

“This beautiful novel gripped me from the first page. Spanning a thousand years of turbulent history in China, it tells the tale of Wang, a taxi driver in modern day Beijing whose world is turned upside down when a letter arrives from the soul-mate who has accompanied him throughout his many lives. Violent and poignant by turns, it sometimes makes for uncomfortable reading, yet it was compelling and fascinating and I will be recommending it to everyone.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From The Madding CrowdJuly-IBAP-banner-3My Two Blankets by Irena Kobald & Freya Blackwood

“A delightfully illustrated book of new arrivals and friendship. It tells of Cartwheel who arrives in a new country after having had a terrible time. In a strange land she shelters under an old blanket, but soon makes a new one and makes new friends. A heart-warming tale of change and assimilation.”

Chosen by: Richard Knowles, bookseller at Rickaro Books

Mouse’s First Night At Moonlight School by Simon Puttock

“First day or night at school is always daunting. Here Mouse goes to the Moonlight School for the first time. This superbly illustrated picture book tells of the first night at school, of all the worries and the concerns, but also the joy of new friendships. A new picture book sure to become a firm favourite.”

Chosen by: Richard Knowles, bookseller at Rickaro Books

The Pilot and The Little Prince by Peter Sis

“This is the beautifully illustrated story telling the life story of Antoine de Saint-Exupery with the most warm illustrations and drawings I have seen. A delightful story that you can read again and again with children which was first published in 1994, but will reach out to a new audience.”

Chosen by: Sheila O’Reilly, bookseller at Dulwich Books

The Scarecrows’ Wedding by Julia Donaldson

“The dream team are back together with a fabulous book. A lovely Julia Donaldson rhyming story perfectly illustrated with Axel Scheffler’s trademark illustrations. Full of humour and sweetness, this tale of scarecrow-love threatened by wicked Reginald Rake is undoubtedly going to be a huge hit.”

Chosen by: Frances Hopkins, bookseller at Urmston Bookshop

Maps Activity Book by Aleksandra Mizielinska

“A follow-on from the bestselling Maps, this is full of fascinating facts and puzzles from around the world offering hours of entertainment to young adventurers. There is a fascinating discovery on every page.”

Chosen by: Frances Hopkins, bookseller at Urmston Bookshop

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s