What’s happening on hive in July: round-up of features, announcements and more!

Hello there!

Welcome to a very hot and sticky footbally-tennisy-just-generally-sporty-July on hive. We’ve got a huge amount of things happening on the site this month, with recommended titles, up-and-coming authors, offers, announcements and new features.

So without further ado…

Lynda-La-Plante-AOTM-banner

Our Author of the Month for July is Lynda La Plante, best known for creating strong and high-powered literary female characters in crime fiction. The most famous of them, DCI Jane Tennison, was subsequently brought to the small screen by Helen Mirren in the award-wining ITV adaptations of La Plante’s Prime Suspect books.

Since her first book, Widows, was published in 1983, Lynda La Plante has become one of the first names in crime and thriller fiction, and 2014 sees her publish her ninth stand-alone novel, Twisted.

To read more about Lynda La Plante and see her books, just click here to visit her page on hive.

BOTM-July-2014

Our Book of the Month for July is Flirty Dancing by Jenny McLachlan. This is Jenny’s début novel, the first in a quadrilogy of books for young teenage girls. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, you can read more about Jenny McLachlan and purchase Flirty Dancing by clicking here to our Books of the Month page.

CBOTM-July-2014

Our Children’s Book of the Month for July is The Gruffalo Nature Trail by Julia Donaldson. Do your little ones love the Gruffalo? Without doubt they do, so make sure you check out this brand new book for all Gruffalo fans by clicking here.

July-IBAP-blog-graphic

Here are our books for July that have been specially selected by our independent booksellers at Rickaro Books, Atkinson-Pryce books, Red Lion Books, Dulwich Books, Urmston Bookshop and Far From the Madding Crowd. Just click here to see all their reviews and purchase any of their recommended reads.

summerReads2014

Our Summer Reading Shop is OPEN! Don’t leave the country to go on holiday without grabbing some awesome paperback bargains in our Summer Reading Shop; we’ve books for the beach, chick-lit fiction, Classics, sporty reads, YA and children fiction and activity books, and just in case you need more heat, erotica too! Sizzling stuff! Click right here to go though and nab yourself some essential summer literature for 2014.

rising-human-and-pet-writers

You know when you just get a great idea, and you don’t want to so much change it, but maybe just… expand on it? Well we know our Rising Writers feature we do every month is very popular as a new way to discover new and upcoming authors. But why should we stop at just humans writing books? Well, luckily for you, we didn’t. We also can now boast Rising Writers – Pet Authors too, as the place you can go to, to find out how the lack opposable thumbs did not stop these critters from becoming literature legends.

And finally…

It’s something that we’ve been asked for so many times, and we’re pleased to be able to tell you all that hive now accepts payment by PayPal! Wonderful news that you now have this trusted way to pay for you bookshop-benefiting booty.

paypal2

Have a lovely summer and see you in August!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s