Books for January as chosen by our independent booksellers

Hello and welcome to the books chosen by independent booksellers as recommended new reads. Every month we will be highlighting fifteen books hand-picked for you, and why these booksellers think you should be reading them.

Just click on any of the titles to read more and purchase from Hive, where every sale benefits your local independent bookshop.

IBAP-Jan-15-banner-1Behind God’s Back by Harri Nykanen

“There’s a killer on the loose in Helsinki and the target seems to be the small Jewish community. Detective Avi Kafka is drafted in to investigate – after all he may be able to get the inside track on ‘his people’. For fans of Borgen, The Bridge and Rankin, this excellent Scandi-noir thriller will be right up their street.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

The Peanuts Guide to Happiness by Charles M Schulz

“Snoopy and the gang reach across generations of people who fall in love with them all. This latest addition to the beautiful small format gift books is another instalment of a brilliantly funny and insightful observation of human life. From laughing and dancing, to toasting marshmallows over a fire, this guide to happiness will make everyone smile. ”

Chosen by: Sarah Donaldson, bookseller at Red Lion Books

Hope in a Ballet Shoe by Michaela DePrince

“This is an inspirational true story of a young girl’s journey from war-torn Sierra Leone to achieving her dream to become a ballerina.”

Chosen by: Frances Hopkins, bookseller at Urmston Bookshop

War at the Edge of the World by Ian Ross

“A swashbuckling novel set in northern Britain. The main character is a veteran centurion sent to the cold north to sort out problems in the long decline of the Roman Empire. It’s a fast-moving story which feels very real, recreating the harsh realities of that time.”

Chosen by: Sarah Donaldson, bookseller at Red Lion Books

Juice by Liz Earle

“Perfect for this time of the year when we all decide to become healthier, this is a clear and comprehensive introduction to the benefits of juicing. There are lots of suggestions for tasty fruit or vegetable juices that will have us sparkling well into the new year!”

Chosen by: Frances Hopkins, bookseller at Urmston Bookshop
IBAP-Jan-15-banner-2Last Bus to Coffeeville by J. Paul Henderson

“It’s quite hard to categorise this brilliantly funny novel – it’s somewhere between The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and a Bill Bryson travelogue. Last Bus to Coffeeville follows a band of misfits who are all at crossroads in their lives trying to grant a dying woman’s wish, on a tour bus once used by Paul McCartney. I loved this.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

Barging Round Britain by David Bartley

“This is the official tie-in to a new ITV series Barging Around Britain, starting in January 2015 and presented by John Sergeant. The book is beautifully illustrated and is full of interesting facts about the people and places that make up our canal network across the United Kingdom.”

Chosen by: Sarah Donaldson, bookseller at Red Lion Books

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

“One of our favourites from last year, the hardback sold very well and we have book groups waiting for the paperback. A mystery story about an old lady who has Alzheimer’s but she is sure someone is missing. Very sensitively written.”

Chosen by: Sarah Donaldson, bookseller at Red Lion Books

Mini Knitted Woodland by Sachiyo Ishii

“I have recently become a knitting convert, though at the moment I’m generally still on scarves. At first I thought this book would be way too advanced for me, but the simple instructions and beautifully photographed step-by-step guides will have you pulling rabbits out of hats!”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

“I am very happy to assure you that The Girl on the Train is a worthy successor to both Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep, as it lures you into the plot of what has happened to each of the main characters. This is a fast-paced, psychological thriller that will change your commute forever and a debut crime thriller which is sure to be a bestseller in 2015.”

Chosen by: Sheila O’Reilly, bookseller at Dulwich Books

IBAP-Jan-15-banner-3Because I Love You by David Bedford

“A new edition of a firm favourite in an even more appealing format. The story of the love of a mum for her baby bear and all that they share together, this is a heart-warming and a delightful story to read to the young.”

Chosen by: Richard Knowles, bookseller at Rickaro Books

The 13-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths

“This story follows Andy and Terry’s crazy adventure in their treehouse as they try to write a book, told through a combination of words and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations. Ideal for 7+.”

Chosen by: Sheila O’Reilly, bookseller at Dulwich Books

Don’t Chew The Royal Shoe! by Kate Leake

“An amusing tale about Chips, the Royal dog. He is always getting into trouble for chewing the Queen’s shoes, but one night he goes from zero to hero when he captures a burglar by chewing his boots. A mischievous story with delightful and colourful illustrations.”

Chosen by: Richard Knowles, bookseller at Rickaro Books

Doll’s House Sticker Book Country House by Megan Cullis

“Usborne have been producing some cracking sticker books recently and this one will delight kids from four years old upwards. If you could design the doll’s house of your dreams it would probably look a bit like this Edwardian mansion – hours of fun to be had here!”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

Soonchild by Russell Hoban

“Young readers will truly be transported into another world amidst the thrilling adventures of Sixteen- Face John, in order to track down the World Songs to help his child come into the world. Fantastical beasts, demons and spirits haunt his journey as he shape-shifts through time and life. It will make you laugh and cry. Mind spinning storytelling and magic is at the heart of this amazing fable.”

Chosen by: Sue Kekewich, bookseller at Atkinson Pryce Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s