New books for May as chosen by our independent booksellers

Hello and welcome to the books chosen by independent booksellers as recommended new reads. Every month we will be highlighting fifteen books hand-picked for you, and why these booksellers think you should be reading them.

Just click on any of the titles to read more and purchase from Hive, where every sale benefits your local independent bookshop.

March-2015-IBAP-banner-1
The Battle of Waterloo Experience by Peter & Dan Snow

“This year is the 200th anniversary of the Battle of Waterloo and enormous publicity for the event is assured. This sumptuous volume is prepared by Peter & Dan Snow so the media machine should really ensure a high profile for this publication. It comprises lavish colour illustrations with an informative text that will really bring this historic event to life, together with facsimiles of contemporary
documents. In addition it will make an attractive addition to any bookshelf.”

Chosen by: Richard Knowles, bookseller at Rickaro Books

Flood of Fire by Amitav Ghosh

“Long-awaited, this is the final part of the Ibis trilogy and is just as brilliant as the first two books – like meeting up with old friends you haven’t seen for ages. The story races along from colonial India to the opium wars in China, with a fascinating cast of lively characters and great historical detail. This is a rare treat, superbly written and hugely enjoyable.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

David Gower’s 50 Greatest Cricketers of All Time by David Gower

“David Gower takes his life in his hands by choosing the 50 cricketers he thinks are the best of all time. Bound to cause many an argument over a pint!”

Chosen by: Frances Hopkins, bookseller at Urmston Bookshop

Fern Verrow: Recipes from the Farm Kitchen by Harry Astley and Jane Scotter

“Praised by Nigel Slater as ‘tender and fascinating’, this wonderful recipe book from farming life highlights the individual and delicious nature of home-grown cooking. Its mouth-watering imagination is evident throughout and has been lovingly created to inspire passion in cookery. This is a bible that belongs in your kitchen.”

Chosen by: Sue Kekewich, bookseller at Atkinson Pryce Books

The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker

“One of my thriller picks for the perfect summer read in 2015. I absolutely loved this book with its fastpaced action, lots of twists and turns with an even bigger twist at the end. Translated from the French, this is not highbrow literature rather than a wonderful, enjoyable read.”

Chosen by: Sheila O’Reilly, bookseller at Dulwich Books

March-2015-IBAP-banner-2
Common Ground by Rob Cowen

“Moving and thoughtfully written, with a unique view of the world around him, the author immerses himself in a seemingly scrubby barren piece of land and then discovers the diversity and natural beauty of our landscape in a brilliant book, which I think will become a classic. Very much of our time – from the desperate demise of a fox trapped in barbed wire, to the gripping and very personal story of the birth of his son – he discusses and muses on the state of our countryside today.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

“Among some of the most beautiful storytelling, this novel will appeal to fans of Angela Carter, Eowyn Ivey and Erin Morgenstern. An enchanting and encapsulating story of a floating circus and two young women in search of a home, it has a haunting narrative that drowns in the emotion and poetic beauty of this book. Brimming with original imagination this debut will delight readers of the world.”

Chosen by: Sue Kekewich, bookseller at Atkinson Pryce Books

Shoes for Anthony by Emma Kennedy

“A WWII page turner with beautifully drawn characters led by the wonderful Anthony, this is by turn a funny and moving great debut novel from the ever-popular Emma Kennedy.”

Chosen by: Frances Hopkins, bookseller at Urmston Bookshop

A Slip of the Keyboard: Collected Non-Fiction by Terry Pratchett

“With the desperately sad news of Sir Terry Pratchett’s death I found myself turning to A Slip of the Keyboard to get more of an idea of the writer behind Discworld. As wryly witty as any of his fiction, it is also a very moving collection of essays, articles and of course footnotes on life. He has left such a gaping hole in publishing, but it is lovely to be able to dip into a book such as this.”

Chosen by: Jill Pattle, bookseller at Far From the Madding Crowd

A God In Ruins by Kate Atkinson

“Not a sequel but a companion to the wonderful Life After Life, and I think even better – just thinking about Teddy makes me go all misty-eyed. If this book doesn’t win every literary prize going I’ll eat my proof copy.”

Chosen by: Frances Hopkins, bookseller at Urmston Bookshop

March-2015-IBAP-banner-3
Monkey and the Little One by Claire Alexander

“A charming and warm-hearted tale of the importance of friendships and the power of jam sandwiches – need we say more! Accompanied by soft and emotive illustrations, this picture book is perfectly suited to get a powerful message across.”

Chosen by: Sheila O’Reilly, bookseller at Dulwich Books

Kipper’s Little Friends by Mick Inkpen

“Kipper is playing with his little friends, piglet and owlet, but has he got it quite right with froglet and doglet? All the Kipper stories are very much loved and this one will be no exception.”

Chosen by: Sarah Donaldson, bokseller at Red Lion Books

The Secret Rescuers: the Storm Dragon by Paula Harrison

“Sophy, a maid in Greytowers Castle, finds some magic crystals in a box that she has been told to send to market. Can Sophy rescue a little dragon that comes from these magical crystals? Just enough danger and excitement to enchant young confident readers, it is charmingly well-illustrated too.”

Chosen by: Sarah Donaldson, bokseller at Red Lion Books

Little Red and the Very Hungry Lion by Alex T. Smith

“A classic fairy tale with a safari twist from the always wonderful Alex T. Smith. Love the story, love the illustrations but the best bit is the shiny golden cover!”

Chosen by: Frances Hopkins, bookseller at Urmston Bookshop

How do Flowers Grow? by Katie Daynes

“Tackling questions not only about how plants grow, but also where seeds come from and why leaves fall, this lift-the-flap book answers questions about the natural world in a fun and engaging way, with fun insect and animal friends to help out too. Beautifully illustrated, this book will no doubt spark an interest about the world around us from a young age.”

Chosen by: Richard Knowles, bookseller at Rickaro Books

—-
You can purchase all the books on this blog from Hive here and collect from your local independent bookshop, or have delivery to your home with free standard UK delivery – whilst still supporting your local bookshop.

To see more about us and how your purchases on Hive benefit local independent bookshops, please click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s